Tips for Tender, Tasty Scones

Cinnamon Chip Scones

It’s early morning and I’m making mini scones (about 6 dozen) in preparation for a meeting…pumpkin, cinnamon chip and golden raisin. A good flavor combination considering the season. Crunched for time, I’m resorting to my favorite box mix, Iveta Gourmet, which has me out of the kitchen and on my way  in an hour. I love that mix!

As I’m patting and cutting 4 bowls of dough, I find my inspiration for this post. How many times have I served scones only to hear this comment, “These are scones? But they taste so good!”?

While I appreciate the compliment, scones aren’t difficult to make. The appeal of a good scone is in the texture as well as the taste. It should be a little crunchy on the outside and tender on the inside. So without further comment, here are my tips for tasty, tender scones.

– Use cold butter or margarine and cold milk.

– Scones are basically a sweet biscuit, so follow the same rules: Don’t overmix and handle the dough as little as possible.

– When rolling out the dough, use as little flour as possible and roll to about 1/2 inch thick. Remember to handle the dough as little as possible. I’ve found that patting out the dough with my hand allows me to use less flour.

– Cut out small scones instead of large. I use a 1-2 inch round cutter. It’s a great size that your guests will appreciate.

– Don’t overbake! I know this is obvious, but still important.

– Make your scones the morning of your event. Remember, scones are basically biscuits, and therefore, will get stale more quickly.

Turbinado Sugar

– For extra table appeal, sprinkle your scones with coarse sugar before andafter baking. You can use raw sugar, demerara sugar, turbinado sugar or decorative sugars. I pick up decorative white sugar crystals from our local cake decorating shop and keep a vanilla bean in the sugar for extra aroma and flavor.

– If you’re crunched for time, don’t be afraid to use a mix. I’ve got a favorite scone recipe, but there are some good mixes on the market. As I mentioned, my favorite is Iveta. With a mix, you can have scones and tea ready in about 30 minutes.

If you’re looking for a good scone recipe instead of a mix, I recommend this one: The World’s Best Scones. As always, we’d love to hear your comments or questions.

Happy Baking!                                                                                                            Michelle in Customer Service

You’re invited to click Teapots ‘n More and browse our newest selection of english teapots, tea accessories, teacups, tea miniatures and english bone china tea sets.

Leave a Reply

